organising · planning · sewing

Oh, joy!

40:365

I’m sewing again!

I have only cut out the pieces, but I’m going to start sewing tonight.

After I come home from the fabric store.

I also signed up for Pink Chalk’s Fabric Club. I’ll get 8 yards of solids once a month, this first shipment will be in pinks.

As I was re-organising my fabric stash I realised I have very little solids or the equivalent of solids (tiny dots, stripes, checks). I guess when I buy fabric from the States I tend to get the prints since space in the shipment is limited. I need to get better about that.

So tonight, if the girls aren’t too tired, hungry and cranky we’re going to the fabric store.

I want to get fabric for linings and bodices, I’m getting oilcloth for a coat for Sofia, some acetate lining fabric, some broadcloth, my favourite gingham in several colourways, 2 pillow forms 16″ square, zippers and thread.
I will try my very best not to get any more printed fabric as I have loads and loads of that at home.

I found some cotton heirloom fabric that I think will make a nice dress for Isabel and one for Sofia. They had two patterns and of course I preferred the one that cost almost twice as much as the other.

I also plan to get some interfacing to trace pattern pieces on. It will be a lot more durable than tissue paper.
I’m not a huge fan of tracing patterns though as it takes so long, but once it’s done it will save me time.

I hope.

2 thoughts on “Oh, joy!

  1. I'm seriously considering signing up for Pink Chalk's fabric club too – trying to decide whether I can justify it!!! Sounds like a fun trip to the fabric shop – I went to replenish my interfacing (I use it for drafting too – it works well!) on Monday – and came home with wool cashmere 🙂

  2. It appears as if interest in the fabric club was much greater than she expected so I'm not sure if she offers it any more.The trip to the fabric store went very well. No crying or moping (from the girls or from me)I came home with a few useful items, but not as much as I had intended to.

Leave a Reply

