Uncategorized

First quilt finish of the year

20140731-222652-80812494.jpg

I started doing the Craftsy BOM from 2012 in January of 2013, churning out nine blocks in three days. Then I lost interest and the nine blocks was lost in my studio mess.

20140731-222854-80934913.jpg

Once I moved into my new studio earlier this year I stuck the blocks up on my new design wall and there they remained until a few weeks ago when I needed the space.

20140731-223024-81024104.jpg

I put them together 3×3 with white sashing and borders.
Next up came the quilting – not my forte.
I drew a large circle in the centre and offset it slightly to create the start of a spiral. I did the centre spiral using free motion quilting and fancied it up with a little flower.

20140731-223353-81233214.jpg

I added corner pockets to put stones in so it doesn’t blow away when we use it for a picnic.
I backed it with an IKEA fabric. Love it for backing. I even stocked up with another 3 yards for another quilt. May go back for more.

One thought on “First quilt finish of the year

  1. I like the quilting. I have some of that ikea fabric for a backing and I’ve been planning to tea dye it, or just regular dye. I have been putting it off for a long time!

Leave a Reply

