Uncategorized

Cake stand

Many years ago I bought this kit to make your own cake stand. You got the handle and the matching dividers, screw and washers and a drill bit to drill through ceramics. I’ve wanted to use it for so long but I haven’t been able to find the right plates.

I found one or two plates that I liked but never a full set.

IMG_2170

Then last weekend we went to the big shopping mall just to browse and ended up at the Salvation Army’s thrift store. I ran across these three plates on a shelf. Two of them match but the third is different. I don’t mind at all. The smallest one is a little deeper than the rest but I figure it will look nice to use it for sugar cubes or very small cookies.

IMG_2172

Rickard drilled through the two lower plates without too much issues but the last dish was made from a different material and destroyed the drill bit. It was so stubborn the drill got so hot it melted. But we got through.

I already have plans to find three more plates so I can switch it up. These will look really nice with my fine coffee china. It’s not the same pattern but it’s the same colour scheme.

I would really like to find something with a pretty colourful flower or fruit motif. I guess I’ll have to keep looking.

One thought on “Cake stand

Leave a Reply

